Religion And Technology

Typical manufactured prayer mat showing the Kaaba

Typical manufactured prayer mat showing the Kaaba (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was going through my Flipboard app on the phone reading geeky news when I came across this article in Mashable about a prayer rug for Muslims. What’s special about this prayer rug? Well read the article yourself and I’ll commence my rant after the jump: El Sajjadah

Now there’s nothing wrong with using a bit of technology to help with the religion, I’m Muslim and some of the tech actually helps. But a glowing prayer mat that doubles as art? Honestly, that useless bit of technology isn’t worth the $100,000 funding goal they’re trying to scrape up.

I definitely wouldn’t waste my money on this useless tech, but as the article hinted…it IS pretty to look at, otherwise it’s nothing but a carpet on a wall to me. I’d do better to spend money on real Islamic art rather than this high-tech gizmo.

Now if the rest of my Muslim “brothers” want to bitch at me for being anti-Islamic, think again…it’s only a rug. Nothing holy about it, so go bitch elsewhere.

End rant, short and sweet isn’t it?

 

Update: I was just told that anything that distracts you from praying is haram (a sin). Go figure.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Religion And Technology

  1. Rawan says:

    Reblogged this on Rawan Designs and commented:
    I agree.

  2. [...] Religion And Technology (couchgeek.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. AZ says:

    Agree. It’s an awful idea and very ostentatious

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 575 other followers

